Water Filter by :
Whirlpool
Price:
$32.99

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On May 20, 2014
Last modified:March 24, 2016

Summary:

If you are looking for a whirlpool refrigerator water filter that can help you reduce lead, cysts, benzene, and other contaminants in your drinking water, then the PUR W10186667 Push-Button Refrigerator Water Filter is what you need. This refrigerator water filter will also reduce chlorine taste and odor but ensure that you have the beneficial fluoride from your drinking water. One good point is that it will work with different varieties of refrigerator brands.

  • Whirlpool PUR Push Button 4396841 Compatible Water Filter Cartridge
  • Best Whirlpool Water Filter 4396841, 4396710, Kenmore 469030, PUR W10186667 Compatible
  • Whirlpool PUR Push Button Compatible Water Filter Cartridge
  • Most Popular Replacement In-Refrigerator Water Filters to buy
  • How to Remove and replace the water filter on your compatible WHIRLPOOL or Kenmore Refrigerator
  • Aqua Blue Water Filter Review Whirlpool 4396841
  • Best Whirlpool Water Filter 4396841 4396710 Kenmore 469030 PUR W Review
  • How to Replace In-Grille Refrigerator Water Filter – Push Button
  • Whirlpool 4396841 Fridge Filter with Install
  • How to Replace In Grille Refrigerator Water Filter Push Button
«
»
This PUR water filter is a whirlpool refrigerator water filter that will work with a wide variety of refrigerator brands. Refrigerator brands include Whirlpool, Kitchen Aid, Maytag, Amana, Jenn-Air, or any other Whirlpool manufactured brands.The PUR W10186667 Push-Button Refrigerator Water Filter is designed to reduce lead, cysts, benzene, and other contaminants. It will also reduce chlorine taste and odor but will not remove beneficial fluoride from drinking water. This is so that you and your family can enjoy clean, fresh tasting water and ice that is free of contaminants.For optimal results it is advised that you do not use with water that is micro-biologically unsafe or of unknown quality without adequate disinfection before or after the system. Systems that are certified for cyst reduction may be used on disinfected water that may contain filterable cysts. For individuals requiring water of certain microbiological purity, your physician’s advice is required.

PUR W10186667 Features of Interest

  • Fits refrigerators with a push button in-grill water filter
  • Refrigerator brands include Whirlpool, Kitchen Aid, Maytag, Amana, Jenn-Air
  • Replaced regularly, PUR water filters reduce contaminants to provide clean, fresh tasting water and ice
  • Reduces lead, cysts, benzene, and other contaminants, reduces chlorine taste and odor
  • Does not remove beneficial fluoride from drinking water
  • Provides 100 gallons or up to 6 months of clean filtered water and ice per filter
  • Removes 99% of lead and microbial cysts (cryptosporidium and giardia), and reduces many other contaminants like 97% of trace levels of pharmaceuticals
  • May be used with FAST FILL water dispensing system

Important Note About the PUR W10186667 Push-Button Refrigerator Water Filter

Before buying the PUR W10186667 Push-Button Refrigerator Water Filter it is paramount to note that there are two models of these filters – 4396710 and 4396841. Part 4396710 should not be used with refrigerators with “Fast Fill” or “PUR Measure” dispensers. If your fridge has these features you should purchase filter 4396841.Though the description may seem the same, from the PUR’s website it is clear that the 4396710 removes 16 contaminants while the 4396841 removes only 6 contaminants. The 16 contaminants removed by the 4396710 are lead and mercury, chlorine taste and odor, particulates, benzene and toxaphene, asbestos, cysts and turbidity. The 4396841 however, does not remove the last 3.However, if it is proving difficult for you to make a decision between the two, you can always put a call through to your local Sears store with the model of your Kenmore before placing your order.

Rating: 
Amazon Price: $36.99 (as of August 15, 2016 3:01 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Currently unavailable

Customer Reviews

ATTENTION: PLEASE READ REGARDING SEARS, WHIRLPOOL, & PUR

401 people found this helpful.
 on November 19, 2009
By S. Scott Proud
It seems there are a LOT of misuderstandings in these reviews. If you own a Sears refridgerator it IS a Whirlpool, or Kitchen Aid, or whatever else with a “Kenmore” name plate on it. Sears doesn’t make their appliances and they purchase appliance from varios companys and put their “Kenmore” brand on it. I have a Whirlpool fridge, Whirlpool dishwaher, and GE microwave. They all say Kenmore and the stainless stell matches perfectly. A Sears sales rep will tell you who makes the specific unit. This is true for Kenmore washers & dryers as well, all appliance. Secondly, Whirlpool, Kitchen Aid, Kenmore, etc. do not make the filters. Sears, Whirlpool, etc. sell the filter with their markings on it. PUR make the filter. This is not a cheaper replacement for the filter, it is the same filter. I have been using PUR filters bought on-line for 5 years now and it is the same filter that came in the refridgerator when I bought it. The only thing to keep in mind is that the “universal PUR Filter”, that fits all push button, in the grill units, does not have the same filtration as the the specific PUR filter that comes with the fridge. For example the “Universal” filter is about $26 on Amazon and my fridge came with a PUR 4396710 which cost about $32 on Amazon. Both will work, but the $32 unit filters out about 11 types of impurities, the $26 unit is 4 types. I buy the 4396710 to protect my 2 year old and wife. What is $7 more when it’s your family’s health. They are about $50 each at Sears.

Used this in a Kenmore fridge. worked fine

42 people found this helpful.
 on September 15, 2008
By Nick C.
First time changing filter. Not sure if all do this, but when i changed, we had extremely high pressure. Im guessing it was acting like there wasnt a filter in at all. Caused water to keep flowing a bit (without pressing).

Fits in my Kenmore Elite

26 people found this helpful.
 on January 20, 2011
By Sushi Chef
It perfectly replaces the original Kenmore filter Model: 09030. Sears web site sells 09030 for $54.98. I signed up for subscription with Amazon and my cost is $26.00. Significant savings.

Works with my Kenmore fridge.

23 people found this helpful.
 on June 24, 2011
By Julie Rocks!
I purchased this filter for my Kenmore side-by-side, which I got from Sears in late 2007. The “official” part number for the water filter my fridge uses is 9030. It is a Pur brand filter.

Why pay twice as much to Sears

15 people found this helpful.
 on May 27, 2009
By Jeffrey H. Wildrick
Quite simply, this works just the same as the Kenmore filter and costs a lot less money. By the way, a service man told us that even this filter is good for twice the use that the light on the refrigerator suggests. Just reset the light and you keep on using it. We’ve done this and noticed no degrading of taste or water flow.

Great Filter for my Fridge

13 people found this helpful.
 on September 8, 2008
By BSSKJ
I normally have a tough time finding a filter to fit my Kenmore fridge. Sears is great, but there are none close by to me now. This filter fits perfectly (even though it says Whirlpool) and works great. Ice and water taste so much better than the water straight out of the tap.

Filter, Ice maker, Whirlpool, Sears

6 people found this helpful.
 on June 4, 2009
By Joe Z
This product, made by PUR, fits Sears and Whirlpool referigerators.

Easy, Breezy

 on September 9, 2013
By Winter
My family goes through a lot of water in the course of a day, and we rely on our refrigerator to filter it. It’s great that the inside of the fridge has a colored light to indicate when the filter has started to turn. With the Pur W10186667 Push-Button Refrigerator Water Filter, the system couldn’t have been easier: it’s simple to swap out and subscribing to replacements has been extremely convenient.

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

five × four =