Water Filter:
Whirlpool
Price:
$74.99

Reviewed by:
Rating:
4
On May 19, 2014
Last modified:March 23, 2016

Summary:

This 2-pack premium push-button refrigerator water filter can be used in Whirlpool and KitchenAid, Maytag, Amana, and JennAir side-by-side refrigerators. It's NSF-certified to reduce cysts, particulates (category I), asbestos, lead, mercury, and more. It can also lower the style and odor of chlorine while retaining helpful fluoride. If you are looking for a refrigerator water filter that can greatly help you treat your drinking water, then you will need to check this out.

  • Whirlpool 4396710 KitchenAid PUR Push Button Cyst-Reducing Refrigerator Water Filter $32.56
  • How To Install Whirlpool Refrigerator Water Filters
  • Whirlpool 4396710P | Find the best price for Whirlpool 4396710P
  • Most Popular Replacement In-Refrigerator Water Filters to buy
  • Whirlpool 4396710P Product Accessorie
  • Whirlpool 4396841 Refrigerator Water Filter
  • Whirlpool 4396710 Refrigerator Water Filter
  • Most Popular Refrigerator Accessories to buy
  • How To Change an EveryDrop 4 Water Filter on a Whirlpool French Door Refrigerator
  • How to replace Whirlpool Refridgerater Water Filter
«
»
Amazon Price: $74.99 (as of August 2, 2016 3:35 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

This 2-pack premium push-button refrigerator water filter is used in Whirlpool and KitchenAid, Maytag, Amana, and JennAir side-by-side refrigerators with filter access in the bottom grille. It’s NSF-certified to reduce cysts, particulates (category I), asbestos, lead, mercury, and more. (The contaminants or alternative substances removed or reduced by this water filter are not necessarily in all users’ water.) Whereas it effectively removes contaminants from your water and ice, this filter additionally lowers the style and odor of chlorine while retaining helpful fluoride.

For the very best quality water and ice, your refrigerator’s water filter needs to be changed from time to time as its effectiveness at cleaning the water is reduced. For optimal results, you should replace this refrigerator water filter each 6 months to make sure clean, safe drinking water and ice.

One good thing about it is that your refrigerator can even remind you when to change its filter by turning on an indicator lightweight found near the water dispenser. Changing the filter is simple–simply find the previous filter, twist and flip it until it becomes loose, then pull the previous filter out and replace with the new filter.

This model (4396710) will be used to replace the following water filter model: 4396711

Replacing Your Whirlpool 4396710P KitchenAid PUR Refrigerator Water Filter

For side-by-facet refrigerators with filter access in the bottom grille, follow these instructions for replacing your filter:

  • Push the eject button, then pull the filter cap. Do not twist cap.
  • Take away the filter cap by turning it counter clockwise. Set aside cap. Discard old filter.
  • Take away the packaging and O-ring covers from the new filter.
  • Align arrows on the cap and new filter. Flip clockwise to snap in place.
  • Push filter into the base grill till the eject button pops. Gently tug on cap to ensure it is snug.
  • Flush the water system till a complete of three gallons (12 L) has been dispensed.

NOTE: Replacing the water filter as recommended is very important as this will ensure that the water and ice from your refrigerator is as clean and fresh tasting as possible.

Customer Reviews

Works great, incredible value overall

341 people found this helpful.
 on September 3, 2008
By Nathan A. Price
I have a Kenmore refrigerator form Sears that I bought about a year and a half ago. Kenmore is actually made by Whirlpool and although the filter this replaced was labeled Kenmore, this is the exact same filter but labeled Whirlpool instead. I looked it up on the Sears site and they wanted $50 for the same filter. The price is a steal and even though it says 6 months I used it for over a year since I have soft water in my house and only one person. My fridge has a 6 month built in timer that goes from green to orange to red when the 6 months is up. I thought it might be based on actual usage, but it’s not, because it went red at exactly 6 months and I use far less water than most other households. I have no idea why more time would harm a filter, as far as I’m concerned it’s just a marketing tactic to get you to buy them more often then needed, like oil changes every 3,000 miles.

Fits my Kenmore Elite which takes the Sears filter 9030

189 people found this helpful.
 on January 10, 2009
By DJ
This filter fits my Kenmore Elite side by side which takes the Sears 9030 filter and at almost half the price. The only difference in this filter is it does not say Stage II or Kenmore. The water tastes exactly the same to me as when I used the Sears brand and I am very aware of the water taste since we have hard, extremely chlorinated water in my area. I wish I had found these filters – 4 Sears brand filters ago … serious $$$ savings!

Replaces these Kenmore filters!

97 people found this helpful.
 on January 15, 2012
By J Adams
I was so happy to see Amazon carrying these filters. Beats $85.00 for one filter from Sears!

Whirlpool filter 4396710

76 people found this helpful.
 on June 14, 2007
By Sanjeev Pant
I bought my whirlpool refrigerator from sears in 2006. Sears sent me a reminder through mail that I need to replace my filter. I almost ordered the part through the sears.com website because this particular filter was not available through the sears store or through their parts center. I went to the sears.com website and their price was $60.59($44.98part+ $4.62tax+$10.99shipping). Then I thought about checking amazon.com to see if this filter was available, and it was, for a much lower cost to me. My total was $41.98($34.99part+$6.99shipping). I ordered the filter on May30 and received it through usps on June2. Replacing the filter was easy – just pop out the old one, transfer the filter cap from the old filter to the new one, and pop the new filter assembly back in. The old filter was dripping water, so I took it over to the sink to shake out the water and out came some rust colored water and small pieces of debris which would have been in my drinking water if it had not been filtered out by the filter. So it is a good idea to replace the filter on a regular basis.

Facts about Carbon filters – Why to change your filter

65 people found this helpful.
 on July 13, 2009
By Noah
This is a good filter at a substantial savings compared to Sears. It will fit into your Kenmore Frige that takes a PUR filter.

Superior taste, excellent performance — for less than 20 cents a day

41 people found this helpful.
 on March 2, 2006
By imvho
WIth all due respect to the reviewer who complained that the cost of 20 cents/day was unreasonable and excessive, this filter does an amazing job and is a fantastic bargain, **especially** when compared to bottled water and manufactured ice. We’ve had our new KitchenAid fridge for just a little over 6 months, and we’ve been delighted with the sparkly-clean, crisp, tasteless water & ice that this filter enables it to dispense. Especially since we live in a “hard-water” area, where the stuff coming from your tap, while acceptable, leaves a faint, gritty mineral taste. I used to “splurge” on store-bought ice several times/year for parties and special occasions, just because it tasted so much better. (Or rather, didn’t taste like anything at all — which is of course the point.) Since we’ve had this fridge, with this filter, I’ve never needed to spend extra on bagged ice OR bottled water, because the ice & water thru this filter are every bit as good. The acid test? I could fill a clean plastic bottle with the water from this filter, and let it sit at room temperature for a day or more, and it still tastes just as good warm as if it were freshly dispensed. That same exercise with our regular tap water would’ve resulted in a nasty, nose-wrinkling, mineral stew as soon as the chill was gone. Another nice advantage this filter has over bottled water is that it does NOT filter out cavity-preventing fluoride, whereas most (all?) bottled waters do.

NO COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

11 + 6 =